Martial arts (in my world)

I guess before I keep going on and on about martial art styles pissing everybody off (and maybe even praise some! Oh my God!), and constantly posting video upon video to eat up everyone’s download limit and time; I think I should state what my stand is on martial arts and what it means to me.

Don’t let the past 2 entries fool you, I personally don’t think that there is such a thing as a better martial art, only better people. Martial art is the skill of fighting that is used (in most cases, if not all) against other people, who are ever changing and therefore so will the effectiveness of the style. All martial arts follow at least a certain degree of logic within their style (…maybe not for Kiai…), so it’ll carry some truth to it when it comes to practicality as long as a physical part of your body/weapon comes into contact with your opponent. How effective and realistic a fight is really is just a matter of when and where you are, if we think back to the roots of a lot of traditional martial arts they were actually developed from real battle and survived because it works. The logic of today of how to throw a punch and how to kick is different depending on culture and upbringing, I mean think back a few centuries and the West was characterized by fist fighting and high kicks were absurd, while the Chinese were being taught how to whip their tail like a dragon.

In the end it all comes down to who’s stronger, faster, smarter, and tougher; poking your pinky into someone’s cranium may seem like the dumbest thing ever, but if your fingers can do handle it then there’s nothing wrong; no matter if I can slice throw 10 ice blocks with my hand, if it doesn’t go through your arm it’s useless. So a word of advice: if you don’t know which martial arts it good and where you can be taught right, at least find one that makes you break a sweat and leave your muscles aching (and of course the best way is to listen to me)

.

So with that said, why do I keep ranting on about martial art styles since if even a Ninjitsu fighter can be deadly? As I said before the effectiveness of a style depends on the time and place, and in this day and age of UFC, Pride and all sorts of MMA influence, holding on to traditional ideals and concepts just don’t work in this ever changing world, yet this is what a lot of these mainstream styles are promoting and exploiting, selling it to geeks and sissies across the world like a religion: “It works because it has been time proven for centuries and I have a six-pack, now pay me and bow before me.” These are the guys I’m usually attacking (with exception to capoiera that has never worked) and often some stereotypes that seem to fit the majority. So I will continually mock martial art styles and some occasional praising to those I see worthy, if you can relate to what I’m saying or don’t agree on what I say and won’t mind sharing your thoughts, please do so as criticism is what helps us improve; but if what I say sounds like rubbish to you or offends you and you’re just going to leave stupid comments that would reduce my IQ- leave, you are not forced to be here.

And finally, what I want to say is: I don’t care if you punch like you’re trying to grope me or stab me with your ear, if it works and I can’t prove you otherwise then you’re fine, I mean I like hook kicks and fly kicks too (feels great when you hit!), but if you hide behind your impenetrable grading system, hippy-coloured belts and fancy patterns, I pray that a homeless, drunk primary drop-out hippy with a cocaine addiction would mug you and snap your spine. And if you try to tell me you don’t fight because martial arts is a discipline and is not used to hurt people (but do so when you know they aren’t allowed to get you back for it), here’s a recommendation:

rexmod.jpg

[apologies if I somehow (can’t see how…) offended any footballers/rugby players]

4 Responses to “Martial arts (in my world)”

  1. Raymond Lam Says:

    As long as a style trains live, chances are it will be good. They also need to teach proper punching as a basic, because that is the foundation of self-defence. I think thats why Taekwondo has been villified so often.

  2. freakychinaman Says:

    I think what teachers need to do is give their students a sense of reality and they won’t always be protected by rules, this is when they will become more critical in the things they are learning and doing, and ultimately use it. And I think it’s the excess amount of rules in Taekwondo to make it SAFE that lead to its downfall.

  3. Tye 'smokeyou' rosenberg Says:

    totally agree with the belts and conformity of martial arts…MMA FTW!!! lets put all that shit together and kick some ass! …btw…kevin, you have way to much time on your hand

  4. freakychinaman Says:

    agreed, we should all start a fight club together, I hereby notify everyone of this new project and encourage all to join, then we shall all challenge different martial art schools around the country.

    and not really, I just tend to procrastinate… not a good habit, but at least this is more productive than facebook.

Leave a Reply

